atheism

Page Nine, website outline

                      “And you hate religion?”
      “It just seems juvenile, a child’s conception of reality.
       I’m always a little surprised when I find reasonably
       intelligent people who haven’t outgrown it.”
 
                   Rebecca Goldstein
                   The Mind-Body Problem
 
 
 

Yes, I’m an atheist, and have been for many years, and have no intention to change that.

I’m an atheist. When I say that to some people, they get this truly mean-spirited look on their faces. The same look I get from some people when I say “I have 14 animals,” or “I have 25 animals.” A look both irritated and appalled, as if I’d just said “I burn babies in my backyard.” Having a lot of animals and being an atheist, these are apparently completely reprehensible things: like burning babies in the backyard.

There are also people who like to say to you, “There are no atheists in the trenches.” This is an old saw that comes from wartime. When you are in the trenches and being fired upon, you cry out to god. Well, I’ve been in the trenches. The trenches of the psychological war that has been my life, and since I became an atheist at the age of 23, I have never once cried out for  a god when I was suffering so much that I didn’t think I could take another step. I have, however, cried out for human companionship and empathy, and have usually only received it in very parsimonious fashion, if I received it at all.

And there are the endless attempts by Christians to convert me. Christians both Catholic and Protestant cannot simply accept me as an atheist: they must try to bring me back to god. Since I was raised a Baptist, duly saved and born again and baptized by immersion, they see me as simply having wandered from god, from my true and legitimate state of christianity, and I only need to wander back. Back to the one place they see as right and good. The one place where they can see me as right and good. Why can’t they just leave me alone, leave me my own beliefs, and take me as an atheist. I don’t try to convert them to my way of belief. Why are christians so bloody arrogant that they take it as their right to nag me and plaque me over god.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

read…  Mishibone Neverending solitaire

Share   ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

a href=”http://twitter.com/share” data-count=”none” data-via=”annegrace2″ data-related=”ziidjian:outre tweeting”>Tweet</a><script type=”text/javascript” src=”http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”></script

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 all photos, graphics, poems and text copyright 2010-2012 by anne nakis, unless otherwise stated. all rights reserved.

 

13 Comments

  1. eggplantinspace said,

    February 5, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Awww. Good for you

  2. braonthree said,

    February 11, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    good for me that I’m an atheist? are you one as well, or, if so, willing to admit it?

  3. eggplantinspace said,

    February 11, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Of course. Im not frightened of saying so. Have you checked out my blog?

    • braonthree said,

      February 19, 2010 at 4:35 pm

      Peter,

      How do I find other blogs besides my own on this site?

      • eggplantinspace said,

        February 19, 2010 at 8:41 pm

        go to your readomatic, and edit subsciptions, then add tags, say atheist, and see what pops up

  4. braonthree said,

    February 12, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    I have very limited computer time, as I don’t have my own. With all the work I’m doing on my website, I don’t have time right now for reading, but I hope I can start taking some time for that soon, especially to look at your blog and oddamsel’s. Anne

  5. braonthree said,

    February 12, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Just did a search for your blog and nothing came up. Same thing happened with oddamsel. Maybe I’m doing it wrong.

  6. ruthnoakes said,

    June 4, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    I am also an atheist, and unashamed. I don’t pretend to have life’s answers, but I can say certainly that I am open to possibilities; I just prefer not to have my belief system prescribed by an ancient book, or by anyone for that matter. Discovery is key in developing ones own beliefs.

    To this, some would say they develop theirs from the Bible, or whatever religious text they use, because the “adapt” it to make it their own. This would be a fair point, but still not based on discovery as such. To remain open to discovery, and self discovery, is to admit the potential of scientific experiment and logic, and MOSTLY to admit that, no matter what “evidence” you have, you could be wrong, religious or not.

    This blog post is refreshing, and grants context to atheism rather than just branding it.

    Also, if any devoted religious people read this comment and want a debate with me, that is not what I am looking for, I am so tired of those things and would only refer you to Richard Dawkins so that he could say what I don’t have time to.

  7. braonthree said,

    June 8, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Thank you. I love to see other atheists coming to this post and leaving comments. I feel less alone. It isn’t that I don’t know there are more of us out there in the world, it’s just that I don’t meet any here in the cesspool. None who will ADMIT to atheism, anyway.

  8. contoveros said,

    September 13, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Buddhism, my dear Anne Nakis, does not care if your’re an atheist or a theist and has nothing whatsoever to say about what most religions identify as a god in either lower or upper case G.

    Nothing in the 84,000 teachings of the Buddha. It deals with a morality by focusing on suffering, the causes of suffering and how one alleviate the causes by seeking a “Middle Path.”

    I still curse, drink red wine and can believe in any God I want or not want to. (Actually, I’m being drawn to someone called Creator in Kabbalah which wants nothing more than to give me pleasure while I learn to bestow more goodness than I get. Haven’t figured it all out, but love the Jewish customs being shown to this Gentile.)

    michael j

  9. braonthree said,

    September 14, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Hi Michael. I do know a bit about Buddhism, and am aware that it’s a godless pursuit, but I have other issues with it. Thanks for coming. Anne

  10. Aaron Agassi said,

    October 24, 2010 at 9:26 am

    I’ve tried to find any fresh perspective upon Atheism. Click the link above and the tell me if I have succeeded.

  11. braonthree said,

    October 26, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Wow, Aaron, that’s quite an in-depth set of pages at your site. I didn’t have the time today to read every single word or click on the links, but maybe another day I won’t be so behind. I especially like the statement about anti-rationalism being part of the cognitive process that allows for irrational belief systems.


Leave a Reply

