reading lists

Page Twenty-seven, website outline

As time allows, I look for interesting blogs to read.  In general I’m disappointed in internet writing, but there are, happily, exceptions. Nobody’s paying me to put them on this list, so there’s no need to be cynical. I don’t even know these people, with one exception. I do know Paulette Post Miller.

vonjunzt.livejournal.com                                miss_julia_s.livejournal.com
www.badconscience.wordpress.com           www.essorant.wordpress.com
http://www.triviatar.wordpress.com                                 www.ep5weblog.wordpress.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
www.mycityshy.com                                      
www.oddamsel.wordpress.com
www.dancingonthinice.wordpress.com                                     
www.tagesgedanken.wordpress.com/www.tageskritiken.wordpress.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
 
brainstew.wordpress.com  (subtitles: impressions personafied, jaymie thorne…)
www.poetrypoliticsandpathos.wordpress.com         vinniekinsella.wordpress.com 
sanseverything.wordpress.com                                                  translatorsnotes.wordpress.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
rhinoreg.wordpress.com
jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com  (jingle has a sort of poetry group, if there are any poets out there who’d like to become part of that. I don’t know how it works, but I’m sure if you go there and ask jingle, she’ll tell you)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
vibes01.wordpress.com (she walks her own path)
www.superfluousblog.wordpress.com  (philosophy, and more)
www.thedeevolutionofman.wordpress.com (political satire)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
www.paulettepostmiller.com (one of the places with her paintings)
 

                                                                      

www.ariane5.wordpress.com a fellow misanthrope! read about stupid people, it’s cathartic

http://www.thewuc.com…  this and that from an australian chick

www.tirissa.com…  a fantasy novel for young people, written and illustrated by willow.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 for the voracious reader…  books I’ve mentioned in my website, and in twitter tweets.

Margaret Atwood:    The Robber Bride, Cat’s Eye, The Blind Assassin
Kurt Vonnegut:   Timequake         Mira Bartok:  The Memory Palace
Chris Chester:    Providence of a Sparrow       Ian Brown:  The Boy in the Moon
Donna Williams:   Nobody Nowhere          Mary Karr:  The Liars’ Club
Libbrecht and Rasmussen: The Snowflake
John Elder Robison:   Look Me in the Eye
Martha Stout:   The Sociopath Next Door
M. Scot Peck:   The People of the Lie
Garrison Keillor:   Wobegon Boy
Rebecca Goldstein:   Properties of Light
  
a list of my own writing is here.

~~~~~~~~  (book photo at www.toscano.com)  ~~~~~~~

 href=”http://twitter.com/share” data-count=”none” data-via=”annegrace2″ data-related=”ziidjian:outre tweeting”>Tweet</a><script type=”text/javascript” src=”http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”></script

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Share  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

15 Comments

  1. ruthnoakes said,

    June 23, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Thanks for including me, despite my blog being inconsistent

    Hope you are well, and that I can escape into the world of your blog and universe of your words after work is over

  2. braonthree said,

    June 23, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    I need to write to you today. Haven’t been writing much lately. As always, thanks for your kind words.

  3. Astrid Desmonda said,

    July 8, 2010 at 2:35 am

    Thank you, broanthree, for putting mine in your list. Wish you greater days ahead of you. Keep writing and cheer on!

  4. anne nakis said,

    July 8, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Cheer isn’t part of the existence I now have, Astrid. Thanks for stopping by — always like hearing from you.

  5. Astrid Desmonda said,

    July 10, 2010 at 1:44 am

    What’s going on? You’re very welcome, and thank you for stoppin by mine as well. Take care!

  6. verewig said,

    August 14, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Anne, thank you for adding me to your list. I also went through a period where I stopped to write completely for I felt that the radical changes that occured in my life left me without a beingness, thus how could I write if I had no view point? Things are still very unsure for me as well but writing keeps me sane, and even though I have no idea what the future will have in store for me, I do what I can and try to make the best of what I have right now, even knowing that the little that I have now might also be gone tomorrow. What I have learnt and how it made me see will never disappear.

    Warmth and Blessings,
    Sophia

  7. braonthree said,

    August 16, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    I’m glad, verewig, that it helps you to find a lesson in devastation. But I’m a different type, and the lessons of devastation for me are only that people are vicious, and capricious, and never to be trusted.

  8. verewig said,

    August 17, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    I am sorry that you have had such harsh experiences. I have found that when people are acting with viciousness they normally think either unconsciously or consciously that their pain are greater than anyone else’s pain. There are therefore entitled to act the way they do in their eyes. True, that in reality one cannot trust anyone and that life is brutal, however, among the brutality I have also found incredible kindness from the least expected sources.

    Can we really trust anyone unless we can predict with accuracy what their thoughts and feelings will be? Can we predict our own thoughts and feelings?

    “Don’t promise me forever. Promise me now, because that is all either of us can do. And now, becomes tomorrow, and tomorrow becomes years, You won’t have broken your promise. Promise me for now, I hope with all my heart that now will last forever.” Kayla Sullivan

    Sophia

  9. braonthree said,

    August 17, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Well, Sophia, in an ultimate sense, you’re right. We can never totally predict anyone’s behavior, even our own. Not to %100. But in those who profess to be close to us, to have fondness or love for us, I do think there’s a certain minimum standard we have a right to expect from them. And from such folks as doctors, landlords, neighbors, etc. — I think we ought to be able to expect legal and reasonably moral conduct from them.

    • verewig said,

      August 18, 2010 at 6:21 am

      True Anne, I have however found that so-called profesionals often display poor ethics behind the excuse “of its just bussiness – nothing personal.” You can expect no mercy, or very rarely, in those areas. It also appears to me that the tougher the times get, the more of an excuse it becomes to act without compassion. It surprizing what gets justified under the title of survival, even on a personal level.

      Sophia

  10. braonthree said,

    August 18, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    You’re right about all of that Sophia. And a lot gets “justified” with all kinds of other excuses too, when the bottom line is that people are just plain morally lazy.

  11. vibes01 said,

    August 26, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    i dont really get what this blog is all about, which is why i like it so much…you walk your own path….glad i found you

  12. braonthree said,

    August 27, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    Well, vibes, it’s actually eight blogs linked together, and it’s about a number of subjects. Maybe think of it as several small books, each on a certain subject, and the pages are scattered around amongst each other. I’m glad you like it that I walk my own path. Most people DON’T like that about me.

  13. vibes01 said,

    August 27, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    ive added you to my blog roll as i find you a breathe of fresh air from all the bullshit ive found in some blogs…i love wandering through your scattered pages…

  14. sehnen said,

    August 31, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Thanks very much, vibes. That’s kind of you to say.


Leave a Reply

